Agostino Steffani: Stabat Mater IV; Pro peccatis suae gentis, Voices of Music

In this video

The fourth movement from the Stabat Mater of Agostino Steffani, perfomed by the Early Music ensemble Voices of Music. Steffani leavens the rich counterpoint of of the outside sections with sharply declaimed homophony to highlight the phrase “et flagellis subditum”: “he was subjected to the whip.”
4K UHD video from our March, 2015, concert in San Francisco.
Visit us on the web at
Text and Translation:
Pro peccatis suae gentis vidit Iesum in tormentis et flagellis subditum
For the sins of the people, she saw Jesus in torment and subjected to the whip.

Voices of Music
Hanneke van Proosdij and David Tayler, directors
The musicians (left to right, back to front)
Céline Ricci, soprano
Jennifer Ellis Kampani, soprano
Clifton Massey, countertenor
Christopher LeCluyse, tenor
Paul Elliott, tenor
John Bischoff, bass
Elizabeth Blumenstock, baroque violin by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona, Italy, 1660
Maxine Nemerovski, baroque violin by Timothy Johnson, Bloomington, Indiana, 1999 (after Antonio Stradivari, Cremona, Italy, 17th century)
Kati Kyme, baroque baroque viola, Germany, anonymous, 18th century
Lisa Grodin, baroque viola by Mathias Eberl, Salzburg, Austria, 1680
David Daniel Bowes, baroque viola by Richard Duke, London, England, ca. 1780
Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, baroque cello, Anonymous, 18th century
Farley Pearce, violone by George Stoppani, Manchester, 1985, after Amati, 1560
David Tayler, archlute by Andreas von Holst, Munich, 2012, after Tieffenbrucker, c1610
Hanneke van Proosdij, baroque organ by Winold van der Putten, Finsterwolde, Netherlands, 2004, after early 18th-century northern German instruments.


Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *