Agostino Steffani: Stabat Mater XII; Quando corpus morietur, Voices of Music

In this video

Hey everyone~! Please consider a donation,
and we will make more videos like this one 🙂 We need your help!
The final movement from the Stabat Mater of Agostino Steffani, performed by the Early Music ensemble Voices of Music. After a brief introduction of ruffled homophony, Steffani presents the final lines of text and the Amen in the form of a six-part double fugue. The bipartite first fugue subject also provides supporting thematic material, and, after a vigorous exposition, the second fugue theme is introduced as an instrumental interlude: the two themes are then brilliantly combined for the final section where the instruments and voices join together, effectively creating a contrapuntal triptych–an exceptional work of ingenuity and passion by a composer writing at the end of a long and varied career. 4K UHD video from our March, 2015, concert in San Francisco.
Visit us on the web at
Text and Translation:
Quando corpus morietur fac ut animae donetur paradisi gloria. Amen.
When my body dies, grant that my soul is given the glory of paradise. Amen
Voices of Music
Hanneke van Proosdij and David Tayler, directors
The musicians (left to right, back to front)
Céline Ricci, soprano
Jennifer Ellis Kampani, soprano
Clifton Massey, countertenor
Christopher LeCluyse, tenor
Paul Elliott, tenor
John Bischoff, bass
Elizabeth Blumenstock, baroque violin by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona, Italy, 1660
Maxine Nemerovski, baroque violin by Timothy Johnson, Bloomington, Indiana, 1999 (after Antonio Stradivari, Cremona, Italy, 17th century)
Kati Kyme, baroque baroque viola, Germany, anonymous, 18th century
Lisa Grodin, baroque viola by Mathias Eberl, Salzburg, Austria, 1680
David Daniel Bowes, baroque viola by Richard Duke, London, England, ca. 1780
Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, baroque cello, Anonymous, 18th century
Farley Pearce, violone by George Stoppani, Manchester, 1985, after Amati, 1560
David Tayler, archlute by Andreas von Holst, Munich, 2012, after Tieffenbrucker, c1610
Hanneke van Proosdij, baroque organ by Winold van der Putten, Finsterwolde, Netherlands, 2004, after early 18th-century northern German instruments.


Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *