Arcangelo Corelli: Concerto Grosso Opus 6 No. 4 in D Major; Allegro & Coda : Voices of Music

In this video

The concluding Allegro and Coda from Corelli’s Concerto Grosso No. 4 in D Major, performed on original instruments by the Early Music ensemble Voices of Music.
300 years ago, Corelli’s concertos, Op. 6, were published in 1714 in Amsterdam: these works dramatically affected the style of the baroque concerto for the next generation of composers. The reception of this magnificent collection, one of the crown jewels of baroque instrumental music, is in no small part due to the music publishing boom which began around 1690, as well as Corelli’s signature set of trio sonatas, Opus 5, of which as Michael Talbot notes “at least 42 editions had appeared by 1800”. The wide availability of Corelli’s works created an international Corellian style. The concertos are written in an expanded trio sonata style, in which the two solo violins and cello form a small ensemble within the larger tutti framework. The fourth concerto is noteworthy for its suave and serene introduction, the gracefulness of the dance movement, the exceptionally well-balanced counterpoint and harmony, and the furious concluding coda which flows out of the second ending of the last movement.
HD Video from the Voices of Music Lamentations of Jeremiah concert, April, 2014. In the year 1702, the Avvisi di Roma noted that for a performance during Holy Week of Scarlatti’s Lamentations, the orchestra also played “a superb concerto for basses, violones, violins and violas of Arcangelo” (Griffin, The Late Baroque Serenata). For the 300th anniversary of Corelli’s concertos, we will be releasing on video selections from Corelli’s Opus 6 as well as Handel’s Opus 6.

Voices of Music
David Tayler & Hanneke van Proosdij, directors
Kati Kyme & Elizabeth Blumenstock
solo baroque violins
Shirley Edith Hunt, solo baroque cello
Gabrielle Wunsch & Maxine Nemerovski
ripieno baroque violins
Lisa Grodin, baroque viola
Farley Pearce, violone
Hanneke van Proosdij, baroque organ
David Tayler, archlute


Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *