Liza Ferschtman

In this video

Composers: César Auguste Franck, Claude Debussy, Dmitri Shostakovich, Francis Poulenc, Igor Stravinsky, Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Artists: Liza Ferschtman (violin), Bas Verheijden (piano)

On this release violinist Liza Ferschtman plays a selection of works by Franck, Debussy, Poulenc, Tchaikovsky, Shostakovich and Stravinsky. Liza is accompanied on the piano by Bas Verheijden.

Liza Ferschtman (1979) was born into a family of Russian musicians in Holland. She started playing the violin when she was 5 years old and received her first violin lessons from Philipp Hirschhorn. Attending masterclasses with Yvry Gitlis, Igor Oistrach and Aaron Rosand at a very young age her extraordinary talent was discovered immediately. Untill 1998 she studied with Herman Krebbers at the Conservatory of Amsterdam and with Alla Kim, after which she also worked with Ida Kavafian at the prestigious Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia and with David Takeno in London. Liza Ferschtman has participated in different competitions and has won first prizes at the ‘Iordens Viooldagen’ in 1994, Herman Krebbers Competition’ in 1995 and at the ‘Oskar Back Competition’ in 1997. In 1998 she received the important Philip Morris Finest Selection Award and in 2003 she was second prize winner of the violin competition in Sion, Switserland, where she also received the prize of the youth-jury.

Bas Verheijden was born at Zeist in the province of Utrecht (in the Netherlands). He began having piano lessons at the age of 10. From 1992 to 1999 he has been studying with the well known piano pedagogue Jan Wijn at the Sweelinck Conservatory in Amsterdam.In June 1999 he completed his exams with high grades and a special distinction-mark for exceptional playing. From 1999 to 2001 he studied with Maestro Boris Petrushansky at the Accademia Pianistica Internazzionale incontri col Maestro in Imola(Italy). Bas has taken part in masterclasses by Gyorgi Sebök, Gyorgi Sandor, Alexander Lonquich, Michel Dalberto, Eugen Indjic, Peter Feuchtwanger and Boris Berman. In 2001 he was invited to study with Maria João Pires for a week. Dutch television ( AVRO) made a documentary about this masterclass. Both in 1990 and 1992 Bas won the National Steinway Competition and in 1991 he won the first prize in the National Princess Christina Competition.

00:00:00 César Auguste Franck: Allegretto moderato
00:07:13 César Auguste Franck: Allegro
00:15:32 César Auguste Franck: Recitativo Fantasia-moderato
00:23:40 César Auguste Franck: Allegretto poco mosso
00:30:10 Francis Poulenc: Allegro con fuoco
00:36:40 Francis Poulenc: Intermezzo
00:43:40 Francis Poulenc: Presto tragico
00:49:23 Claude Debussy: Allegro vivo
00:54:07 Claude Debussy: Intermède, fantasque et léger
00:58:21 Claude Debussy: Finale, très animé
01:02:32 Igor Stravinsky: Sinfonia: andante, allegro sostenuto, andante, vivace
01:09:09 Igor Stravinsky: Danses Suisses: tempo giusto
01:14:19 Igor Stravinsky: Allegretto grazioso
01:17:32 Igor Stravinsky: Adagio
01:20:59 Igor Stravinsky: Variation: allegretto grazioso
01:21:58 Igor Stravinsky: Coda: presto
01:24:01 Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Humoresque Op 10 No.1
01:26:44 Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Méditation: andante molto cantabile
01:36:54 Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Scherzo: presto giocoso
01:40:12 Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Mélodie: moderato con moto
01:43:44 Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Valse-scherzo Op.34
01:49:28 Dmitri Shostakovich: Moderato non troppo
01:51:25 Dmitri Shostakovich: Allegretto
01:52:22 Dmitri Shostakovich: Andantino
01:53:32 Dmitri Shostakovich: Allegretto
01:54:59 Igor Stravinsky: Prélude et Ronde des Princesses
02:00:36 Igor Stravinsky: Berceuse
02:03:37 Igor Stravinsky: Scherzo

Online purchase or streaming:
Also available for licensing: Information:

Social media:
Brilliant Classics Facebook:
Brilliant Classics Instagram:

Spotify Playlists:
Brilliant Classics Spotify:
New Classical Releases:
The Best of Liszt:
The Best of Bach:
Most Popular Piano Music:
Beautiful Classical Music:
Classical Music For Dinnertime:

#BrilliantClassics #Composer #Classical #Music #César #Auguste #Franck #Claude #Debussy #Dmitri #Shostakovich #Francis #Poulenc #Igor #Stravinsky #Piotr #Ilyich #Tchaikovsky #Liza #Ferschtman #violin #Bas #Verheijden


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *