Lost version of Vivaldi opera discovered; Orlando Furioso 4K UHD

In this video

Vivaldi’s lost opera discovered in Venice. Voices of Music is thrilled to present the world premiere of the overture to Vivaldi’s opera “Disco Volante,” which later became his “Orlando Furioso,” performed from a newly discovered manuscript which was unearthed in a trattoria in Venice. Vivaldi later reworked the overture for the beginning of the “Four Seasons,” with a few minor changes. The manuscript sheds valuable insight into the opera staging practices in Venice. The proprietor of the trattoria, Giacomo Parnaso, was in the midst of a remodel when manuscript pages of music literally flew out from inside the walls, where they had been stuffed for centuries as a sort of insulation against the “tutti i Venti in guerra.” Arditti, an enthusiastic collector of antique Venetian Carnival masks, immediately realized the significance of the find. Sadly, only a few pages of the complete work have survived, owing to the inevitable “Acqua alta” of Venice.
Voices of Music
Hanneke van Proosdij & David Tayler, directors
Elizabeth Blumenstock, baroque violin by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona, Italy, 1660
David Daniel Bowes, baroque viola by Richard Duke, London, England, ca. 1780
Lisa Grodin, baroque violin by Paulo Antonio Testore, Larga di Milano, Italy, 1736
Kati Kyme, baroque violin by Johann Gottlob Pfretzschner, Mittenwald, 1791
Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, baroque cello, Anonymous, 18th century
Maxine Nemerovski, baroque violin by Timothy Johnson, Bloomington, Indiana, 1999
(after Antonio Stradivari, Cremona, Italy, 17th century)
Farley Pearce, violone by George Stoppani, Manchester, 1985, after Amati, 1560
David Tayler, archlute by Andreas von Holst, Munich, 2012, after Tieffenbrucker, c1610
Hanneke van Proosdij, baroque organ by Winold van der Putten, Finsterwolde,
Netherlands, 2004, after early 18th-century northern German instruments
Double manual harpsichord by Joop Klinkhamer, Amsterdam (1996), based on the Ruckers-Goujon in the Musee d’Art et d’Histoire, Neuchâtel, Switzerland.
“Save the Arts” composed by Ms. van Proosdij and performed on the harpsichord.
HD Audio & Video: David Tayler, Hanneke van Proosdij, Lloyd Hryciw and Hiro Matsuo
Sound effects, DSP, Color and post processing: David Tayler
Animation story, concept and design: David Tayler & Hanneke van Proosdij
3D modelling, design and animation: Cascade Media Group


Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *