Mozart: Gehn wir im Prater, Secular Canons

In this video

Online purchase or streaming (Spotify, iTunes, Amazon Music, Deezer, Google Play):
More Information:
Brilliant Classics Spotify:
Brilliant Classics Facebook:

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Artists: Chamber Choir Of Europe, Nicol Matt (conductor)

Mozart considered canon-writing an essential compositional skill. Though canons are often small chamber works to be performed in company, Mozart’s sketches of some of these works show that the composer carefully considered them before completion, giving them as much thought as his larger and more famous works.

This collection includes Mozart’s complete canons. The works vary in instrumentation and character; among the vocal ones are puzzle canons (which show one line of music and text, along with only the entry points of the other parts), the ambitious 12-part V’amo di core and the multi-lingual Bona nox! Bist a rechta Ox. Mozart’s sense of humour is demonstrated in the two canons written to the daringly-named text of Leck mir den Arsch, as well as in the Difficile lectu mihi mars et jonicu difficile which, provided that the singer has the right accent, provides much hilarity. Aside from the vocal canons, there are several written for instruments, including the Adagio in F major, composed for two basset horns and bassoon.

The vocal canons are performed here by the acclaimed Chamber Choir of Europe, directed by Nicol Matt. The collection also boasts performances by the Klarinetten-Trio der Musikschule Achern-Oberkirch and distinguished soloists of the Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen.

00:00:00 Adagio in F Major, K. 410
00:01:06 Leck mir den Arsch in B-Flat Major, K. 233
00:02:53 Lieber Freistädtler in G Major, K.232
00:05:11 Canon, K. 508a No. 1
00:06:14 O du eselhafter Martin in F Major, K. 560b
00:09:01 Bona nox, bist a rechta Ox in A Major, K. 561
00:10:16 Canon, K. 508a No. 2
00:11:09 Leck mich im Arsch in B-Flat Major, K. 231
00:13:08 Canon, K. 508a No. 3
00:14:17 Kyrie in G Major, K. 89
00:19:57 Alleluja in C Major, K. 553
00:21:21 Ave Maria in F Major, K. 554
00:23:13 Dona nobis pacem, K. 109
00:24:24 Canon, K. 508a No. 4
00:25:44 Heiterkeit und leichtes Blut in F Major, K. 507
00:26:58 Hei wenn die Gläser, K. 89a
00:27:49 Canon, K. 508a No. 5
00:29:05 Essen, trinken in G Major, K. 234
00:30:32 Auf das Wohl aller Freunde in F Major, K. 508
00:31:30 Canon, K. 508a No. 6
00:32:31 Puzzle Canons, K. 89a: No. 1, Incipe
00:34:27 Puzzle Canons, K. 89a: No. 2, Cantate Domino
00:36:18 Puzzle Canons, K. 89a: No. 3, Confitebor tibi
00:38:07 Puzzle Canons, K. 89a: No. 4, Tebana bella
00:39:13 Canon, K. 508a No. 7
00:40:39 G’rechtelt’s enk in G Major, K. 556
00:41:55 Gehn wir im Prater in B-Flat Major, K. 558
00:43:55 Canon, K. 508a No. 8
00:45:18 V’amo di core in G Major, K. 348
00:47:07 Lacrimosa son io in A Minor, K. 555
00:49:01 Caro bell’idol mio in A Major, K. 562
00:50:56 Nascoso è il mio sol in F Minor, K. 557
00:53:33 Difficile lectu mihi Mars in F Major, K. 559
00:54:55 Canon, K. 508b
00:57:11 Seht, Sie ist dahin in C Minor, K. 229
00:59:29 Selig, selig alle in C Minor, K. 230
01:01:38 Heil dem Tag in D Major, K. 347
01:03:22 Canon for 2 Violins, Viola and Bass, K. 191
01:04:33 Horch, ihr süßes Lied in B-Flat Major, K. 562a
01:05:38 Lebet wohl, K. 228
01:06:42 Sinkt die Nacht, K. Anh. 109d


Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *