Tartini: Violin Sonata in G Minor “The Devil’s Trill” Rachell Ellen Wong, baroque violin.

In this video

Tartini’s masterpiece for solo violin, performed by Rachell Ellen Wong as part of the Voices of Music online season, November 24, 2020.
Tartini gave his own account of his sonata:
“One night, in the year 1713, I dreamed I had made a pact with the devil for my soul. Everything went as I wished: my new servant anticipated my every desire. Among other things, I gave him my violin to see if he could play. How great was my astonishment on hearing a sonata so wonderful and so beautiful, played with such great art and intelligence, as I had never even conceived in my boldest flights of fantasy. I felt enraptured, transported, enchanted: my breath failed me, and I awoke. I immediately grasped my violin in order to retain, in part at least, the impression of my dream. In vain! The music which I at this time composed is indeed the best that I ever wrote, and I still call it the “Devil’s Trill”, but the difference between it and that which so moved me is so great that I would have destroyed my instrument and have said farewell to music forever if it had been possible for me to live without the enjoyment it affords me.”
Published as “Le Trille du Diable” and also known as “Il trillo del diavolo,” the sonata comes down to us with an accompaniment; however, many violinists prefer to incorporate the harmonies into the work and perform it as an unaccompanied violin solo–certainly Tartini does not mention a harpsichord in his dream.
This reconstruction of the sonata differs from modern editions, notably in the improvisations and ornaments. For reference, the chapters reproduce the original tempo markings of the first edition of “L’art du violon” (Paris, 1799). The allegro assai at 12:10 is performed with an introduction in free time, as is for example found in the concertos of Vivaldi.

4K video and HD audio Ronald Haight
Director of Music Technology, Seattle Pacific University
Post production: David Tayler, Hanneke van Proosdij, William Skeen & Andrew Levy
0:00 Larghetto affectuoso
6:24 Tempo giusto della scuola Tartinista
7:19 Andante (Sogni dell autore)
8:11 Allegro assai
8:55 Trillo del diavolo al pie del letto
9:21 Andante
10:10 Allegro assai
10:53 Trillo del diavolo
11:15 Andante
12:10 Allegro assai
13:02 Adagio


Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *